Search
Expand Article

Last Updated: 3/27/15

Duplicate Records & the Merge Tool

People > Common Tasks > Merge This person into another person

Duplicate entries (two People records for the same person) will creep into your data in various ways, such as accidental data entry or someone signing up for Portal with a new email address. You may find these while checking your new Portal users on the home screen or while entering contributions. You can also go to Reports (like Duplicate Names – CS0126) to check for duplicates.

Eliminating duplicates is important, but before merging duplicates, make sure you confirm that it is really a duplicate. There’s no good way to “unmerge” the data once it is combined.

Once you find duplicates, use the Merge Tool to bring together all of your data for that individual.

To merge duplicate entries in the People area, first navigate to the duplicate entry (the one you don't want to keep). Then select "Merge this person into another person" from the "Common Tasks" menu. This will open the Merge Tool (shown below).  *You no longer need to move the duplicate record first.

You can select which areas of the account you would like merged. By default, you MUST merge Bank Accounts and Credit Cards, Contributions and Pledges, and Demographic Information. You will probably usually choose to merge all categories.

The Conflicts Tab shows discrepancies in the data between the two entries you are wishing to combine. You must pick which set of information in each instance is accurate. You must resolve these issues before you can combine the entries.

Once you have resolved all of the conflicts, click Start Merge. You will see the window shown below.

Once you click Yes, the accounts will be merged.

Please note that the account may not be fully deleted, and/or the other email address may not be added to the merged account until you log out and log back into the software. We recommend that you copy the email address from the account you're merging from (usually the duplicate profile) prior to completing the merge. In the case it is not brought over, you can manually re-add it after the merge is complete.

Giving 

NOTE: When people are merged, what happens to giving records is defined by the target person (The person you are merging into). For example, if the target person has giving set to be tracked individually, the incoming giving from the other person will ONLY be added to that individual's record and not to the whole household.

In the same way, if the target person DOES NOT have giving set to be tracked individually, but the duplicate person DOES, the incoming giving records will NOT be kept separate, but will be merged into the ENTIRE TARGET HOUSEHOLD, and NOT the TARGET person.

Please be very careful to note the giving settings before performing a merge.

Below is a chart further explaining what happens to contributions:

Duplicate Contact in a Single Person Household? In the Same Household? Duplicate Contact has Individual Tracking? Target Contact has Individual Tracking? What Happens?
No No  No  No  Nothing (Giving stays in old household)
No No No  Yes  Nothing (Giving stays in old household)
No No Yes No Duplicate Contact's Giving moves to Entire Target Household
No No Yes  Yes  Duplicate Contact's Giving moves to Target Contact ONLY
No Yes  No  No  Nothing (No Individual Giving)
No Yes  No  Yes  Nothing (No Individual Giving)
No Yes  Yes  No  Duplicate Contact's Giving moves to Entire Target Household 
No Yes  Yes  Yes  Duplicate Contact's Giving moves to Target Contact ONLY 
Yes No  No  No  Duplicate Household's Giving moves to Entire Target Household 
Yes No  No  Yes  Duplicate Household's Giving moves to Target Contact ONLY 
Yes No  Yes  No  Duplicate Contact's Giving moves to Entire Target Household 
Yes No  Yes  Yes  Duplicate Contact's Giving moves to Target Contact ONLY 

 

Email

Below is a matrix showing how email addresses are preserved after a merge. If an email address is not preserved, it is deleted. Prior to running a merge, make sure that you record any email addresses that if you think may be deleted by the merge.

Note: A ULS Email address is one that is already linked to a user account in Elexio's Unified Login System. A Non-ULS email address is one is not linked to any accounts in Elexio's system.

Duplicate Contact has ULS Email? Duplicate Contact has Non-ULS Email? Target Contact has ULS Email? Target Contact has Non-ULS Email? What Happens?
No No No No N/A
No No No Yes Target's Non-ULS Email is kept.
No No Yes No Target's ULS Email is kept.
No No Yes Yes All Target's Emails are kept.
No Yes No No Duplicate's Non-ULS Email is kept.
No Yes No Yes The Non-ULS Emails are kept
No Yes Yes No Duplicate's Non-ULS Email and Target's ULS Email are kept. 
No Yes Yes Yes Duplicate's Non-ULS Email and all Target's Emails are kept.
Yes No No No Duplicate's ULS Email is kept.
Yes No No Yes Duplicate's ULS Email and Target's Non-ULS Email are kept.
Yes No Yes No Duplicate's ULS Email is kept if Conflict Winner or Target's Non-ULS Email is kept if Conflict Winner
Yes No Yes Yes Duplicate's ULS Email is kept if Conflict Winner or all Target's Emails are kept is Conflict Winner.
Yes Yes No No All Duplicate's Emails are kept.
Yes Yes No Yes All Duplicate's Emails and Target's Non-ULS Email are kept.
Yes Yes Yes No All Duplicate's Emails are kept if Conflict Winner or Target's ULS Email is kept if Conflict Winner.
Yes Yes Yes Yes All Duplicate's Emails are kept if Conflict Winner or all Target's Emails are kept if Conflict Winner.

 

Post-Merge Checklist

Once you have merged your records, here's a couple items to check.

  1. Check Status History - Delete the new Portal/Mobile user status if the person has an existing current status that is a higher ranking. The new Portal/Mobile user status only exists because the new account was created. 
  2. Small Group, Ministry Team or Class Involvement - If both people had been involved in the same group, team or class but have different commitment levels (member vs leader) or different start dates, after the merge, the merged records may show as involved in that group, team or class twice.   Simply delete one of the duplicate involvement records on the People--Involvement screen.
  3. Attendance Records - If attendance records exists for the exact same event BUT the status is different (signed up vs present vs absent) then duplicate attendance records will be merged and you will need to manually clean these up.  BUT this may be inconsequential, especially if the event is in the past.
  4. If the person had an email address in the original that was different in the duplicate AND used both to login to an Elexio product like Portal, Mobile, Database or Website, then you will have to choose which email address is the primary address which should be used for login. Each person can only have 1 primary email address.  This should be extremely rare. The email not chosen will not merge to the new record and should be noted and added (if needed) to the target profile once the merge is completed. 

Other Notes:

The Activity Log displays a record of all successful merges.   To view which records have been merged, go to the Home screen, click on Common Tasks and select Activity Log.   Look at the section called General Activity.  Expand the details section to view which records were merged.

 

Post-Merge Checklist

 
Back to Top