Search
Expand Article

Making a Mass Edit

Each mass edit task has a variety of options. We've listed them below along with a few tips and things to look out for. In addition, since making a mass edit can significantly affect your data, make sure to check out our best practices at the bottom of the page.

  • Add a Status

  • Add to Mailing List

  • Remove from Mailing List

  • Add to Class

  • Remove from Class

  • Add to Group

  • Remove from Group

  • Add to Ministry Team

  • Remove from Ministry Team

  • Create a Note

  • Change a Field

 

After you've made the appropriate selections and click Run Mass Edit, a confirmation screen will appear that displays the changes you're making and the number of records that will be affected. (below)

Since all mass changes should be well thought through before being made, your normal Database password is required to complete the change.

NOTE: After a mass edit has been made, it will appear in the History tab for 30 days, where it can be 'undone' if necessary. In addition, all mass changes are recorded within the Database Activity Logs

Best Practices

  • Always check your work!

  • If modifying many records at once, first test with just a few to ensure you get the desired results. 

  • Before you make a large mass change, you may want to consider adding all the records you plan to change to a temporary mailing list. This way, if you find that something doesn't appear as expected, you can go back and examine the mailing list to review who was/was not included in the mass edit. (This can be especially helpful when making mass edits on groups of people that may change based on the time the edit was run).
  • When selecting records to modify by a status filter, remember that people in the same household often have different statuses.

  • If you're making many mass changes at one sitting and your password is complex and difficult to repeatedly retype, copy and paste it from an outside source.

Next: Undo A Mass Edit

Back to Top