Search
Expand Article

Last Updated: 4/1/14

Church Directory

The church directory is an opt in directory where you can find information about people in your church.

Make sure you have included everyone you want to appear in the Church Directory. By default Regular Attenders and Members will appear. If you want to change this, in Database, go to Administration--Codes and lookup the Status codes. Select each status and make sure they are in the "Include in Online Directory" group. We advise you to only include statuses of people that still attend the church. Don't include people who have left. This is good for privacy and will help with performance in loading the Church Directory.

By default Administrators can view all people with statuses set to display in the directory regardless if they have opted in or not. Only roles with sufficient permissions can see this information. You have the option to grant access to other church staff to view all the people who have opted out of the directory and/or made their contact info Private. This is a good idea for pastors or other trusted church leaders. (In Database, from the Home Page, Common Tasks, Manage Security Roles, Expand Mobile category)

Shown below is an example of a directory entry. A directory entry can display address, phone number, email, and photo. It also provides the ability to send text messages. This content is taken directly from the information provided in Elexio Database on the People Screen.

  

The first tab in the entry displays the basic contact info for an individual. Tap any of the contact methods to get in touch with the person you are viewing. The second tab displays more specific information from that person's profile. It will show their marital status, status in the church and most recent active small group and ministry team.

  

The third tab displays a list of the members in the household. Use this tab for quick and easy access to information for multiple members of the same household. The fourth tab displays any public notes about that person. Only those with the appropriate permissions can view private notes. If you have the appropriate permissions, you can add a note to the person's record by tapping the plus icon and typing the new note. You can edit existing notes by tapping the pencil icon.

  

Similar to the Notes tab, the fifth tab is Follow Up. If you are authorized, you can add new follow ups by tapping the plus sign and edit existing ones by tapping the pencil. When adding a new follow up, you will need to select the appropriate type as well as assign it to an appropriate member of your staff. You may also set the follow up to be active or inactive.

 

People can remove themselves from the Directory by logging into Portal and selecting No where it says Include in Directory. This cannot be done from the mobile app at this time.

Making a Call or Adding a Contact

To call a person in the directory, simply tap the phone number listed on their record. To send a text message, tap the Send Text Message button. On a tablet, like an iPad, you will be able to add the person as a contact. On a phone, like an iPhone, you can call the person directly.

 

On an iPhone, if you would like to add the person as a contact, tap and hold your finger on the number you want to add and a list of options will appear allowing you to call, send a message, add to contacts, or copy. Doing this with the text option will allow to you to open or copy. If you do it with an email address, you can send a new message, add to contacts, or copy.

 
Back to Top