Search
Expand Article

Last Updated: 4/28/14

Design Blocks

Design blocks allow you to edit areas of your page that are built into the page design.

The basic look of a page. A page design includes the colors and textures on the site as well as the layout of the site's editable areas. See Change the Look of a Page, Section, or Site.

Since they function to create a specific look for the page, editing options on design blocks may be limited. 

  1. To identify design blocks on a page, click Change Content:
    • When hovering over a design block, only the green border and gray shading will show on the block.  Layout borders and buttons for adding, moving or deleting the block will not appear.
    • When you click on a design block to edit it, a yellow bar will show above the edit area telling you that you are editing a design block.
  2.  A design block is different from a content block in several ways:
    • You cannot add blocks to a design block area
    • Since design blocks are built into a page design, they cannot be moved.
    • The page design may limit your ability to change a design block type. Ex: a menu block may not allow you to change it to be a slideshow block
    • Design blocks typically affect the whole site or section of the site.  Ex: changing a logo on one page can change the logo on every page of the site.
    • Only site editors with publishing rights
      The ability to publish/approve content changes so they display on the live version of a page. See People: Security Settings.
      The ability to publish/approve content changes so they display on the live version of a page. See People: Security Settings.
      to a page can edit a design block.

Editing a design block

  1. Go to a page that displays the information you want to change.
  2. In the Page menu select Change Content.
  3. Click on the block to edit it as you would edit any area of your page.  The appropriate block editing controls will appear and you can change the settings, text or images for the block.
  4. Keep in mind that the changes you make may affect other pages that have the same design.

Changing a design block to another type of block

  1. When editing a page, click on the design block you want to edit.
  2. Click on the blue button at the top of the page labelled Type.
  3. If the design of the page does not allow the type of this block to be changed, a message will let you know. Otherwise, a warning will remind you that if you change the block type, the content that is currently in the block will be lost.  If you continue, any changes you have made to the content of the block will be lost.
  4. After clicking Continue, a list of block type options will appear. The design of the page may limit the options that appear on the list.
  5. Select the type of block you want to use.  The editing controls for the new block type will appear.
  6. Add content or make other edits to the block, then click Ok.

Changing a design block's scope: Whole site, part of the site, or single page

Generally, changing a design block affects all pages on the site that have the same block.  Ex: If you change your logo image, it will typically change the logo for every page on the site.  If you want to make a change that affects only one specific page or set of pages, you need to change the design block's scope.

  1. When editing a page, click on the design block you want to edit.
  2. At the top of the edit area, click on the blue button labelled Scope.
  3. The Change Block Scope dialog box will appear. Select how you want other pages to be affected by changes made to this block:
  4. Whole Site (Site Wide):

    • The default setting is Site Wide.  With this setting chosen, any changes made will display on all other pages that show the same block.
  5. Part of the Site (Section):

    • The Section option is used to create a set of pages that display the same content in a design block.  You can have multiple sections on the site, and different sections for different design blocks.
    • After selecting Section and clicking Next, you must select a page that will start the section.  You can choose the current page or a page higher up the site map.
    • Example: A church has their logo in place for the site, but the youth ministry has a different logo to use for the youth page and all youth sub-pages underneath. If Section is chosen, starting with the youth page, any changes made to the logo block will be reflected on the youth page and all the pages underneath.
  6. Single Page (This Page Only):

    • When the This Page Only option is chosen, any changes made will only display on the selected page.
  7.  Revert to Canvas Default will restore whatever content or settings were put in place by the design and will delete any changes made since the design was installed.
  8. Once you have made a selection, click Finish.

"Why won't my design block changes show on other pages?"

If you have edited a design block on "Page A" (let's say you changed a logo) and you are wondering why it is not showing up as you expect on a another page ("Page B"), here's what you should check:

  1. Are the two pages using the same page design? Even similar designs may not share the same block.
  2. On Page A, does the scope for that design block include Page B? Check to make sure the block scope is Site Wide, or if it is Section, make sure the section includes Page B.
  3. On Page B, does the scope for that design block include Page A? Just as above, check to make sure the block scope is Site Wide, or if it is Section, make sure the section includes Page A.

Restoring the original content of a design block

If you are using a Dynamic Canvas design and want to restore the original block type and content of a design block, here's what you do:

  1. Open the design block in edit mode.
  2. At the top of the control area, click on the option labelled Scope.
  3. In the Block Scope Settings window, click Revert to original canvas content.
  4. All changes made to this design block will be lost and the original content will be restored.
Back to Top