Search
Expand Article

Last Updated: 10/24/14

People Security Settings

Permissions for editing, publishing, and administrative functions are assigned in two ways:

  1. General security settings are given to users in the People area
    Accessed by clicking "People" on the site control bar. Used to create and maintain information for users, editors, and directory entries. See People: Site Users, Groups, and Permissions.
    Accessed by clicking "People" on the site control bar. Used to create and maintain information for users, editors, and directory entries. See People: Site Users, Groups, and Permissions.
    Accessed by clicking "People" on the site control bar. Used to create and maintain information for users, editors, and directory entries. See People: Site Users, Groups, and Permissions.
    Accessed by clicking "People" on the site control bar. Used to create and maintain information for users, editors, and directory entries. See People: Site Users, Groups, and Permissions.
    Accessed by clicking "People" on the site control bar. Used to create and maintain information for users, editors, and directory entries. See People: Site Users, Groups, and Permissions.
    Accessed by clicking "People" on the site control bar. Used to create and maintain information for users, editors, and directory entries. See People: Site Users, Groups, and Permissions.
    Accessed by clicking "People" on the site control bar. Used to create and maintain information for users, editors, and directory entries. See People: Site Users, Groups, and Permissions.
    Accessed by clicking "People" on the site control bar. Used to create and maintain information for users, editors, and directory entries. See People: Site Users, Groups, and Permissions.
    Accessed by clicking "People" on the site control bar. Used to create and maintain information for users, editors, and directory entries. See People: Site Users, Groups, and Permissions.
    Accessed by clicking "People" on the site control bar. Used to create and maintain information for users, editors, and directory entries. See People: Site Users, Groups, and Permissions.
    , under the Security Settings section of the user information window (see People). 


    The checkboxes in this area can be edited only by a Site Admin.  These settings include:
    • Assigning a user the role of Site Admin or Site Manager.
    • Giving a user access to each of the areas listed in the site control bar: Files, Pages, People, and Site Settings.
  2. Editing and publishing permissions for specific pages are given in the Pages area 
    Accessed by clicking "Pages" on the site control bar. Used primarily to create, move, and rename pages that make up your main menu. See Create a New Page or Menu Item.
    Accessed by clicking "Pages" on the site control bar. Used primarily to create, move, and rename pages that make up your main menu. See Create a New Page or Menu Item.
    Accessed by clicking "Pages" on the site control bar. Used primarily to create, move, and rename pages that make up your main menu. See Create a New Page or Menu Item.
    Accessed by clicking "Pages" on the site control bar. Used primarily to create, move, and rename pages that make up your main menu. See Create a New Page or Menu Item.
    Accessed by clicking "Pages" on the site control bar. Used primarily to create, move, and rename pages that make up your main menu. See Create a New Page or Menu Item.
    Accessed by clicking "Pages" on the site control bar. Used primarily to create, move, and rename pages that make up your main menu. See Create a New Page or Menu Item.
    Accessed by clicking "Pages" on the site control bar. Used primarily to create, move, and rename pages that make up your main menu. See Create a New Page or Menu Item.
    Accessed by clicking "Pages" on the site control bar. Used primarily to create, move, and rename pages that make up your main menu. See Create a New Page or Menu Item.
    by selecting a specific page and clicking on the Editing & Publishing tab.


    • To assign editing rights to that specific page, select a user or group from the list on the left, then use the arrow button to move that user or group to the Editors list on the right.  To give Publishing rights, check the Allowed box for that user. (Users already given rights to a page using the general security settings in the People area (above) will appear in the Editors list as grayed out. To remove them, you must remove their rights in the People area).
    • Giving rights to a page also includes rights to all of the pages below that page in the page structure of the site. 
      Ex: A user given rights to publish the Youth page would also have publishing rights to all the pages under Youth, which might include Youth Staff, Youth Retreats, and Youth Calendar.
      (See also Drafts and Publishing)
    •  Editing rights for files or file folders are given in the same way as for pages, except in the Files area
      The area of your site where files (images, documents, etc.) for use on pages are stored. Accessed by clicking the Files icon in the site control bar. See Uploading Files
      The area of your site where files (images, documents, etc.) for use on pages are stored. Accessed by clicking the Files icon in the site control bar. See Uploading Files
      The area of your site where files (images, documents, etc.) for use on pages are stored. Accessed by clicking the Files icon in the site control bar. See Uploading Files
      The area of your site where files (images, documents, etc.) for use on pages are stored. Accessed by clicking the Files icon in the site control bar. See Uploading Files
      The area of your site where files (images, documents, etc.) for use on pages are stored. Accessed by clicking the Files icon in the site control bar. See Uploading Files
      The area of your site where files (images, documents, etc.) for use on pages are stored. Accessed by clicking the Files icon in the site control bar. See Uploading Files
      The area of your site where files (images, documents, etc.) for use on pages are stored. Accessed by clicking the Files icon in the site control bar. See Uploading Files
      The area of your site where files (images, documents, etc.) for use on pages are stored. Accessed by clicking the Files icon in the site control bar. See Uploading Files
      The area of your site where files (images, documents, etc.) for use on pages are stored. Accessed by clicking the Files icon in the site control bar. See Uploading Files
      The area of your site where files (images, documents, etc.) for use on pages are stored. Accessed by clicking the Files icon in the site control bar. See Uploading Files
      , changing rights to a folder does not automatically change rights to the files it contains. 

Summary Table of People Security options and rights

 

Site Admin

Site Manager

Assigned publishing or editing rights to page(s)

Page editing or publishing

Unrestricted Unrestricted Only as assigned to specific pages (as an individual or as a member of a group).
Assigning a page includes any pages set below that page in the site structure.
Design blocks are only accessed by publishers.

Files area 

Unrestricted Unrestricted Accessed only if assigned in People > Security Settings.
Can access and edit only assigned files or folders.
Can upload files.
Cannot assign any Access or Editing rights

Pages area

Unrestricted Unrestricted Accessed only if assigned in People > Security Settings.
Can access and edit only assigned pages and the pages under them.
Can create new pages.
Cannot assign any Access or Editing & Publishing rights.

People area

Unrestricted Accessed only if assigned in People > Security Settings.
Can view but not edit security settings
Accessed only if assigned in People > Security Settings.
Can view but not edit security settings

Site Settings area

Unrestricted Accessed only if assigned in People > Security Settings. Accessed only if assigned in People > Security Settings.

Note: You should also be aware that separate security (publishing) settings can be set up within the Calendar and Blog Block, allowing site editors to just add events or just add blog posts within a given calendar or blog.

Back to Top